How to work the Cancellation Report
Automatic Cancellations Through The Patient Portal
Vital Interaction Appointment Reminder messages typically prompt the patient to respond with CONFIRM or DECLINE. We then update the Message Status for the appointment in Vital Interaction. The best way to review up-to-date information is to work with the Vital Interaction Facility Reports.
When Automatic Cancellations are active, the DECLINE link in email and text messages is replaced with a CANCELLATION link. When the CANCELLATION link is selected, the patient is directed to a Patient Portal where they are required to validate the cancellation request by entering their Name and Date of Birth. Upon successful submission, the appointment is cancelled in the Practice Management System and the new status is sent to the Vital Interaction Referral Reports.
Below is a patient view of the cancellation submission portal:
How to Work the Cancellations
Things to Note
When a patient successfully verifies their cancellation, the appointment is marked as DECLINED in the Facility Reports but the appointment is CANCELLED in the Practice Management System.
Upon data upload (which generally takes place overnight), the appointment is marked as Cancelled/Rescheduled in PM System in the Vital Interaction Facility Reports.